Checkup of doctor’s appointment

The doctor’s appointment was okay, just a list of other tests and perhaps some more pharmaceuticals, and I balked at both. Here is what I know about today’s medicine–the doctors are being evaluated and paid on how many patients they can see, how many extra tests they can order, and how many drugs they can prescribe. The insurance companies, the medical conglomerate, and big-pharma are all in the same pot, wanting to get as much money as possible. Well, the insurance companies may be attempting to keep costs down, and they know that if they can catch an illness or ailment sooner than later, it will cost less in the long-run. They would rather pay upfront than deal with an ailment later on.

I have orders at the medical corporation’s lab for various tests. I probably would have gone this morning, but I have other things I want to be doing. As I’ve previously written, May is marathon month, and I have lots to do in the next three weeks to finish out the school year. Getting updated blood work is not high on the agenda. I will get there, on a morning when I don’t have a list of chores and errands. Right now restocking supplies takes precedent.

The doctor also wanted to order a whole bunch of other tests, all paid for by medicare, all paying well into the corporate medical machine. I’ve pretty much decided I don’t need bone density and mammograms very often, if ever, any more. The agency will call and I’ll push them off.

I have heard horror stories about shingles vaccines, and yet the doctor continues to push that shot. NO. She agreed that the second shot is very difficult for older patients. I informed her that I had been telling my friends I refuse to get this. One friend had asked, “you can do that?” Well, duh, yes, it’s your body. You can refuse various procedures. I informed the doctor that more doctors may be getting pushback on that vaccine.

She gave me a dementia check. I had a series of these tests about 2 decades ago when I thought I might be losing my marbles. It turned out I was just overwhelmed with all I had to do and wasn’t performing at the high level I once had. Yesterday’s test was a simplified version, one I’m sure they had adapted to fit the time prescribed for a Medicare appointment.

Here’s a list of words. I’ll ask for them later. Draw a clock face on this circle and set the time for 10 after 11. (How long can they use this test? Today’s children are not growing up with clock faces, but rather digital clocks.) What are the words? Listen to these instructions and do them after I count to 3 and say GO. (It was a series of movements–leave my chair, walk to the door, touch the knob, turn around and return to the chair and sit down.) I think she timed me and I guess I did fine as she said “well done,” but she might say that to everyone. What are the words?

She wants me back in three months to review all the tests! And we set next year’s Medicare appointment. This morning I got a survey from the medical conglomerate that operates the hospital, labs, doctor’s offices, etc, asking me about my visit. I deleted it. I am sure they use these to evaluate my doctor and will probably send me another one.

Oh, and the cough…turns out that 5 weeks of continued cough is not unusual after some the current respiratory ailments going around. The isolation of the pandemic caused all of us to have reduced immune systems and new bugs are promulgating at a rapid rate. Our bodies just have to catch up. She wasn’t at all concerned!

10 responses to “Checkup of doctor’s appointment

  1. I have never been one to trust vaccines or the forces that push them, but … have got all the recommended covid shots and will get a booster next month. Also got the shingles shots as I’m told shingles is worse than anything the vaccines might dish out; same with the covid vaccines. Now I even get the annual flu shots, and can’t say I’m sorry. It’s such a crapshoot, isn’t it. I first got one when Mom had cancer and she asked us to; after that I got a weird flu each year for a couple years, after not having flu for decades. Anyway, each of us must do what feels right to us at the time; I’ve changed my spots regarding vaccines, that’s for sure. Neither of my children got any of the vaccines that were recommended when they were babies 30-some years ago. If I had it to do over again now, I’d probably do differently. -Kate

  2. I actually asked for the dementia test, but she gave me three wards, immediately asked what they were, went on to ask about other medical events, etc. Then we were done. Don’t you want to know the words? She said no. I said them again. You remembered them?

    If your patient is concerned because she can’t remember nouns, it would be appropriate to at least give the simple test you describe. Not a chance. Useless doctor. I have not gone back and it’s been years, since before Covid.

    My husband had shingles and at first said he didn’t want any meds, but changed his mind a few hours later. Really, really painful. His brother had them too and on his face. If it involves the nerves around the eyes you can lose vision, he nearly did.

    That said, my husband got shingles a second time and I didn’t get it at all. I am a great believer in vaccinations but I haven’t had that one. It’s amazing what not being in a classroom has done for my health!

  3. I saw too many people suffer horribly with shingles and got it as soon as I was eligible. Same with flu, pneumonia, and Covid.

  4. It is true that the second shingles shot was no fun, but I sure didn’t want to get it, so I feel pretty good to know I am pretty much protected from it. But you do have a choice, after all. Glad to know you’ve still got all your marbles. 🙂

  5. Wow, I can’t believe you were told to have all those tests. At my age (78), I don’t have mammograms or pap smears anymore. I did take the Shingles vaccine, as who wants to get that disease?

    • I had shingles twice (mild cases) and my dr told me I wouldn’t need the vaccine. I trusted her more than any other doctor and am sticking with her advice. Haven’t had a Pap smear in decades. A friend, at 80, had breast cancer discovered through a mammogram so I’m hesitant to stop those just yet at 71. Bone density just annoys me. I’m shrinking and I know I must not fall, but I am not going to take meds for osteoporosis. They are dangerous.

  6. I think they are cutting way back on the dementia testing. Not sure why, but think because it was too stressful for some. Agree on bone density and mammograms, but not taking a chance on shingles. I had no problem with either of those shots.

    • How interesting—that dementia screening could be stressful. I think I know what you are talking about. I know people who would get very discombobulated with the rapidity of the directions. I don’t know if the doctor would repeat the instructions if the patient didn’t catch them the first time. It could be stressful. Sort of how I feel with the peripheral vision test with my eye doctor. I find that stressful but know it’s for my own good. I always do really well but I am stressed that I might not.

  7. Musings From Hawaii

    I keep counting backwards by 7 because I know someday I’ll have to take that dementia test. I’m getting awfully forgetful.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.