Healthy eating

Somewhere in my blogland wanderings, I found a new blog that will be fun to watch as its premise develops.  A family of five has decided to rid itself of bad eating and plans to tell us how they do it at The Real Foods Project.

Because I am a big proponent of healthy, organic foods, and I have seen what bad eating can do to a person, I am always cheering for those who decide to shop and cook in a more healthy manner.  Too many processed foods are bad for the body, and in the long run, (meaning old age), eating a healthy diet pays off.  You feel better, look better, and are able to do more.

I just had my eyes examined and my eye doctor does this photo image of the inside of the eye where it shows all the blood vessels.  This is the first place things like diabetes and high cholesterol can show up.  My blood vessels are very healthy and the doctor attributes much of that to my healthy eating and use of supplements.

Now, don’t read this the wrong way.  I am not a vegetarian or vegan, but we do try to eat more plant based foods than animal protein.  However, I love sugar and fat.  I could eat dessert every day and have to contain myself when there are sweets in the house.  I have butter on my English muffin every morning.

Saturday is our granddaughter’s first birthday party and we are picking up the ice cream cake.  It’s a vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free  confection made by a great company in San Francisco, Maggie Mudd.  This makes me very happy because I will be able to have cake and eat it too.

3 responses to “Healthy eating

  1. I’ve been doing really well recently, eating-wise. But then came the Birthday. I rolled around my classroom all today, feeling like a 2-ton Tessie!

  2. I’m a firm believer in eating butter! 🙂 I’m so glad that you are enjoying Cristie’s blog. I am, too.

    I also recently learned about the link between the blood vessels of the eyes and the systems of the body, and how your eyes can serve as an early warning tool. Isn’t that fascinating? God is a wonderful Designer!

    Dessert is a huge stumbling block for me, but I’ve decided to be careful — especially since the children are watching and learning from me — in hopes of avoiding some of the health issues that are rampant in my extended family.

    Anyway, I’m finally getting caught up on reading yours and other blogs, since I had a sewing deadline. I can relax and enjoy some good reading now…

  3. Hi! Very interesting read. Will follow this.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.